News Articles
The Ontario East Wood Centre has just rejuvenated its website thanks to funding from one of its principle partners, the Township of Edwardsburgh/ Cardinal. Amongst updated content and some new functionality, we have also incorporated an RSS newsfeed that will keep online subscribers in the loop on news as it happens! Please visit to see our new website, and get current on all the latest related to this innovative OEWC project. Many thanks also to ProbaseWeb for revamping the site.
An incorporated body, the Board of Directors of the OEWC & EIP is meeting regularly. This board has evolved from the hard working Steering Committee formed by partners EOMF, Township of Edwardsburgh/Cardinal and MNR. Our strong, resolute, diverse board of directors includes: Alastair Baird, Economic Development Officer for Renfrew County; Brian Barkley, President of the Canadian Model Forest Network and co-chair of the Board; Ray Bonenberg, co-chair retired Director General of the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources; Tony Bull, founding director and vice president of the EOMF; Dr. Michael Caron or designate, representing our four community college partners; Larry Dishaw, founding director and former mayor; Grey Gooch, P.Eng, MBA; John Hunter, Deputy Mayor of the Township and maple syrup producer; Geri Kamenz, active farmer and Chair of the Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission; Sandra S. Lawn, project leader and founding director; Dave Lemkay, Executive Director of the Renfrew Industrial Commission; Jason Linkewich, Vice President – Fibre Supply Strategy, Tembec; Dr. Steven Liss, Vice Principal (Research) at Queen's University; Dennis Senik, P.Eng Associate of Doyletech; Dr. Sandy Smith, Former Dean of Forestry, University of Toronto; Dr. Ed White, Professor Emeritus Environmental Science and Forestry at State University of New York.

The Wood Centre is also supported by special advisors Dr. Peter Hall of the EOMF Board and Science Committee, Ian Manson, economist with the Ministry of Natural Resources, Dr. Murray McLaughlin of the Sustainable Chemistry Alliance and Allison Sprague, P. Eng. These folks are all connected to a vast array of academic, business and governmental collaborators.
Recent successes include the completion of two poignant Queen's University, Department of Chemical Engineering TEAM (Technology, Engineering and Management) projects. During these course projects, final year students analyzed eco-industrial opportunities emanating from the biochemical and bioenergy potential of woody biomass. Aided by several people including their professors, Dr. David Mody and Dr. Geoff Whitfield (retired scientist from DuPont Canada), their results have been encouraging. As a result, we continue to press ahead on several biochemistry and bioenergy fronts.

A noteworthy event was the recent visit from Professor Antero Turkki, a well known Finnish architect with special expertise in wood technology, eco-design, wood building, and construction and planning. The day-long session began at the Port of Prescott and later moved to Hubbard & Company in Spencerville. Participants included representatives from: the OEWC Board of Directors; Township of Edwardsburgh/Cardinal; EOMF; Chamber of Commerce; Mohawk Council of Akwesasne; agriculture sector; heritage construction industry. Many thanks to Professor Turkki for his insight and valuble contributions!

In this aerial photo, courtesy of the Township of Edwardsburgh/Cardinal, the geographic advantage of the site is clear – five minutes from the Seaway, the railway, two four-lane highways and a bridge to the U.S.
This fall at Queen’s University, 130 fourth-year chemical engineering students will undertake a project involving design and other details for a bio-refinery. Dr. Geoff Whitfield, former Chief Scientist for DuPont (Canada), is a special advisor. Support from the Ottawa Centre for Research and Innovation also continues.
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 Next > End >>
Page 1 of 3